2017 Annual WYOPASS Planning Awards

The Board of Directors of the Wyoming Planning Association is proud to announce the 2017 Planning Awards.

The Wyoming Planning Association is a Wyoming non-profit association of professional planners, appointed planning commission members and others who are involved in the practice of city and county planning.  WYOPASS sponsors continuing education for members and advocates for planning programs intended to preserve and enhance the quality of life in Wyoming.

At the 2017 Fall Conference-Partners in Progress, the Wyoming Planning Association announced the 2017 Planning Awards.  The Annual Planning Awards recognize significant contributions pertaining to outstanding planners and planning programs in Wyoming.

The award winners were judged on their planning related achievements, community involvement, accomplishments, demonstrated commitment to the planning profession and support for local planning efforts. 

Planner of the Year: Megan Nelms, AICP, Planning Director, Campbell County


In recognition of leadership and significant contributions to community planning in Wyoming.

Megan has been a strong advocate of community planning for many years. She currently serves as the Treasurer of WYOPASS and Western Planner, a regional organization of Planning advocates. Megan has served as Vice President and President and has been a committed leader of the organization for many years.  Without Megan’s leadership WYOPASS would be less of an organization and we are proud to honor her with this award.

Planner of the Year – New Professional: Eric Conner, Associate Planner, City of Laramie

In recognition of outstanding work by a planner who is new to the profession.


Eric moved to Laramie in 2015 after finishing graduate school at Kansas State.  Eric always demonstrates a positive attitude when working with the public and has been willing to step up in support of the Laramie Main Street Alliance.  Eric proved to be a valuable member of the Laramie team and quickly took on new responsibilities and consistently performs above and beyond expectations of a new planning professional.

Planning Commissioner of the Year: Richard “Rich” Wilson, Chairman, Carbon County Planning Commission and City of Rawlins Planning Commissioner.

In recognition of dedicated service of an appointed official on behalf of Wyoming’s communities and counties.

Richard “Rich” Wilson has been a dedicated member of the Carbon County Planning Commission since 2006.  In addition, Rich has served on the City of Rawlins Planning Commission since 2002.  Rich has demonstrated a commitment to sound planning principles and support for local planning efforts. Rich is always a strong ambassador of planning and understands the important role of the Planning Commission when representing the public interest. 

Congratulations to all of the 2017 Annual WYOPASS award winners!

Published in the September 2017 Issue

Print Friendly and PDF Email this page